How To File a Police Report for a Car Accident in Oklahoma City
Filing a police report is an important step after a car accident. The police report will provide vital evidence to use in your accident claim. It also ensures that you collect ample evidence at the accident scene before this evidence is destroyed.
Learn how to file a police report for a car accident and why contacting a car accident law office in Oklahoma City is a crucial step.
1. Call the Police to the Accident Scene
Ideally, you will call the Oklahoma City Police Department at the scene of the accident, requesting that an officer come to the accident scene and create a report. If you’ve already left the accident scene, don’t worry; you may be able to file a report up to six months after the accident.
Law enforcement officers should come to the accident scene within a few minutes. If the accident did not occur on private property, such as in a parking lot, the officer will likely create a police report at the scene of the accident.
If the accident only involved minor property damage and no injuries, a police officer may not come to the scene. In this case, follow the steps in the fourth point below for how to file a police report for a car accident after the fact.
2. Provide Details About the Accident
The officer will ask you for details about the accident to include in the police report. They may ask you questions like:
- What happened?
- Are you injured?
- Are any of your passengers injured?
- Were you speeding at the time of the accident?
- Were you practicing safe driving?
When talking to the officer, be sure to stick to the facts and avoid giving any unnecessary details. If you think you may be injured, say so. But if you think you may be partially at fault for the accident, keep that information to yourself. Never admit fault for an accident.
3. Write Down the Officer’s Contact Information
Before the officer leaves the accident scene, request their contact information. You’ll need that information in a few weeks when the police report is finalized. You can contact the officer directly to request a copy of the report.
In Oklahoma, there is a small fee for police reports. You’ll need to pay $7 for a collision report or $10 for a certified collision report.
4. Contact the Police To File a Report After the Accident, If Needed
If you’ve already left the accident scene and haven’t filed a police report, call the police as soon as possible to file the report. The longer you wait after the accident occurs, the longer your insurance claim will be delayed. You also won’t have access to as much evidence to support your personal injury claim.
Contact Owens Law Office PC Today
Now that you know how to file a police report for a car accident in Oklahoma City, you can complete this essential step in your compensation process. For assistance maximizing your compensation, contact Owens Law Office PC today at 405-608-0708. Then learn how long car accident settlements take.